The Twelfth International Workshop on

Desorption Induced by Electronic Transitions

Callaway Gardens

Pine Mountain, Georgia, USA

April 19-23, 2009

 This conference will focus on the recent theoretical and experimental advances in the study  of desorption and dynamics induced by electronic excitations of surfaces and inter- faces.  Topics will include ultrafast electron transfer at surfaces and interfaces, quantum and spatially resolved mapping of surface dynamics and desorption, photon-, electron- and ion-beam induced processes at complex interfaces, the role of non-thermal desorption in astrochemistry and astrophysics and laser-/ion-beam based methods of spatially examining the chemical composition of biological media such as cells and tissues.


Chair: Thomas M. Orlando


Invited Speakers will include:

R. Baragiola, Univ. of Virginia, USA.

J. Burgdoerfer, Vienna Univ. of Technology, Austria.

U. Diebold, Tulane University, USA.

R. E. Johnson, Univ. of Virginia, USA.

K. Maeda, Univ. of Tokyo, Japan.

H. Petek, Univ. of Pittsburgh, USA.

L. Sanche, Univ. of Sherbrooke, Canada.

J. Tully, Yale Univ., USA.

K. Watanabe, Fritz Haber Inst. Berlin, Germany.

N. Winograd, Penn State U., USA.

A. Wodtke, UC Santa Barbara, USA.

M. Wolf, Freie Univ. Berlin, Germany.

J. Laskin, Pacific Northwest National Labs, USA.


Local Organizing Committee:

Thomas Orlando, Georgia Tech, USA

Gregory Grieves, Georgia Tech, USA

Ulrike Diebold, Tulane University, USA


International Steering Committee:

D. Menzel, Fritz Haber Institute, Berlin Germany

K. Al-Shamery, Univ. of Oldenberg, Germany

T.M. Orlando, Georgia Tech, USA

G. Dujardin, Univ. Paris Sud, France

M. Szymonski, Jagiellonian Univ., Krakow, Poland

R. E. Palmer, Univ. of Birmingham, UK

K. Tanimura, Osaka Univ. Japan







For more information, please  email


Site created and maintained by

G. Grieves, 2009